farm or ranch

Help Support CattleToday:

Lazy M

Reaction score
How do you refer to your operation? I was talking to a buddy from Kansas, and I said that I was a part time farmer. He asked if I was growing corn or beans. I said just cattle and hay. He claims that I'm not a farmer, but a rancher. If I told someone around here that I was a rancher they'd look at me funny.
This must just be a regional thing, but I'm curious if you consider yourself a farmer or rancher, and how do you define the difference?

People would think you were playing cowboy here if you said you owned a ranch. We only have farms, and farmers.

Cattle only rancher
Crops only farmer
Cattle and crops rancher -farmer
Cattle and hay rancher
Pigs-chickens-turkeys goats-sheep rancher
Kids - monkey rancher :cboy:

When we ran under range conditons it was ranching. Now under pasture conditions is farming.

Farmer- from where I'm from anybody that calls them self a rancher is just trying to impress someone. we do have a couple of ranches around they are pretty big.

IMO you don't qualify for rancher until you have 500hd , Just My 2cents

"perhaps" in my area, if someone derived all of their income from cattle, they could refer to themselves as a rancher. People would still think they were showing out, as we say here.

As others have said, it's always been my understanding that ranch refers to a fairly large operation.

And if you really think about it, we're all farmers. Grass is our crop; we're just using cattle to harvest it.

Around here raising any kind of livestock you would be called a Rancher.
Raising crops you would be called a Farmer.

Since I have been here on CT I have picked up using the terminology of "Farmer" more. However if I referred to someone (as well as myself) here in public as a "Farmer", it would be assumed that they grew crops. Not livestock.
I am considered to have a "small ranch".

You should see the looks I get in Austin when I tell people I'm a " grass farmer!"