Electric mowers

Help Support CattleToday:

farmerjan

Reaction score
Anyone have one? I am thinking about a ride on one to replace the old bolens I have. It always has problems with running and my son refuses to work on it. I don't want a zero turn because I want to be able to pull a cart and other stuff behind it. I am NO MECHANIC... and tired of all the stuff that needs to be maintained; belts, oil, gas, spark plug all that. I am NOT DOING THIS because of the green new deal CRAP...... I have a battery weedeater and it does good for me... Easy and simple.
I know that a "normal" riding mower is in the 2-3,000 range and found a "Cub Cadet " that is battery for around 3,000 so comparable pricewise.
This is not a have to purchase, and I could find a decent used gas motor type one for 4-500.... but we are back to the whole engine thing.

Any thoughts, advice???

The grass powered ones won't stay out of the flowers. There is no fence, so need to build one, and then I would have to open gates to go in and out all the time since the house is fairly close to the road. Believe me, I plan to use some of them as soon as the fence gets put up around the rest of the property, the fruit trees and garden and all. Then section them off... might raise a few calves... we always have a couple of calves, that have trouble seeing that small paddocks work good for. Son has some white Texas Dall sheep I can "use" but they gotta have pretty perfect fences....

Hey Farmerjan,
What model is your Bolens? I'm a big fan of those machines, They don't make workhorses like those any longer. You might want to investigate those electrics thoroughly before buying. I don't see them having the power to do the extra things like towing that you would be happy with.