Electric fence installation / doesn't work

Help Support CattleToday:

GoodValley

Reaction score
Hello. I'm a hobby farmer, new to the business, with two black angus cows on 4 acres. There are three pastures, each with wood fencing and an existing network of electric fencing wire. When I purchased this property a year ago, the electric fence worked fine but the owner took away the electric fence energizer. I purchased a Gallagher "Wrangler" fence energizier, it can energize up to 30 acres. I followed the instructions and connected the wires (red to fence, green to ground). Plug in the Gallagher and it started clicking. The fence, for some reason, is not working. I walked all over the pasture and do not see any problems with the wire. Any suggestions on how to get this working? If there is one point in the whole network of wires that's not connected, does it disable the whole fence? I can not get power even 10 feet from the unit. Thanks for any advice!

sure wires are hooked right, one hooked to ground rod connected good? no rust, scape it clean & wrap wire around it & clamp, let us know if this helps

Sounds like the charged wire is grounded somewhere.

Hi, thanks for the responses.

You think the fence wire may be grounded somewhere, that is a good suggestion, and I think the ground rods may be a bit rusty so I will wire brush them and get a good connection.

How may I search for a grounded fence wire?

I have a basic electrical tester and if I touch one to the fence wire and one to the ground wire, just a few feet away from the unit as it comes out of my barn, my guage shows a pulse of electricity.

Thanks!

Disconnect the fencer from the fence. You have some work to do.

First - pound at least three 8 foot aluminum or copper ground rods into the ground. Place them at least 10 feet apart. Place the closest rod at least 10 feet from the fencer - more is better.