Donkey

Help Support CattleToday:

jcummins

Reaction score
I'm new to the cattle business, although have been around them for awhile. We have purchased 125 acres, remote from our house, a worn out old corral is about the only thing on it, but pretty good pasture. Have not had coyote problems…yet. But we are seeing them, and shooting them when we can. Concerned about new born calves, especially since we aren't there to regularly check on them.

I've read here that donkeys don't mix with cows, in fact one post here, had an injured calve cause by the donkey. But…I've also read some want them to keep predators out. And for sure I have concerns about coyotes.

So what's the consensus on this?

Some donks work if they've been raised with cattle. The best use of them is still a pitcook barbeque. A neighbor had the same problem with llamas that the earlier poster had with a donk. The best solution is good protective maternal cows.
Although the judicious use of a predator call and a rifle (or Contender) sure doesn;t hurt

dun

We have run donkeys with cows for years due to coyote and dog losses and our neighbor still does. Everybody in this clustered area with over 20 cows around here in the 90s ran donkeys with cows. I have never had a donkey harm a calf (to my knowledge); but coyotes are a different story. I would get the donkeys if I was regularly seeing coyotes in daylight. Now it probably would be better to get them from a guy who runs them with cows than from the government even if you have to pay a little more.