Dart guns

Help Support CattleToday:

elkwc

Reaction score
For those who have used the dart guns to treat cattle. What type of gun do you prefer. What is your impression of them? Looking at buying one.

We have a pneu dart. It works good, but darts are expensive and take too long to fall out. I would be interested in a cap-chur. I believe they have reusable darts that are supposed to fall out quickly.

The reusable darts for the Cap-Chur still have a 1 time use charge inside and also a rubber piece that holds the charge that typically last 1-5 uses.

As for the darts falling out quickly it all depends. Some fall out after a few seconds others its half an hour later. And at the cost of the reusable aluminum darts you want to stick around and find them.

I would like to know about the rubber plunger that holds the charge while they say you only get 1 to 5 uses of it, I'm new to using the Cap-Chur but I have used mine around 7 to 8 times and I still don't see anything wrong with it was just wandering.

I use a Pneu-Dart now but a neighbor gave an old and rusty Cap-Chur CO2 powered pistol a few months back. It has the reloadable darts. Got it all cleaned up and shootable. I like that you can use 15 and 20 cc darts in it but it doesn't have a lot of power, so you have to be right up on them. I would think the rifle would be more advisable for those heavies. The reloadable feature is nice but the charges are over a dollar a piece and there is some risk of damage of the needle or barrel. Also Cap-chur's shipping prices are high.

But why do they say that you only get 1 to 5 uses on the rubber plunger, I have the 22 rifle and love it, you can shoot a long distance with it because it comes with 2 different 22 blanks one for the smaller and up close shots and another for the larger cc and longer shots, just don't understand why they say 1 to 5 uses.