creep feeding????

Help Support CattleToday:

ronr

Reaction score
Hello!! This is my first time posting on this site. I'm from Eastern Ia. I love this site! I'm a small producer who still bucket feed my small calve till they are around 750lbs and then start pushing them. Once I get them to full feed I put them on self feeder. This has been working out fine for my operation. I don't have the numbers to buy a TMR $$$. I Creep my calves with mix feeling. My weaning weights are great but they can get a bit fleshy. With Genetic improvements my larger framed cattle are weaning the kind of calves I like to see. This works on the right kind of cattle here.

I would like to know from people around the Country their thoughts on Creep feeding. We use a Corn Gluten/Corn ration with some extra's.

If you need to help the cows and it is economical creep feed them. Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Ass'n has written many articles on the subject. You might ry their website for more info. not getting them to fat is the key. Fat calves IMO go grow as well.

Scotty

ronr":3u2h98zl said:
Hello!! This is my first time posting on this site. I'm from Eastern Ia. I love this site! I'm a small producer who still bucket feed my small calve till they are around 750lbs and then start pushing them. Once I get them to full feed I put them on self feeder. This has been working out fine for my operation. I don't have the numbers to buy a TMR $$$. I Creep my calves with mix feeling. My weaning weights are great but they can get a bit fleshy. With Genetic improvements my larger framed cattle are weaning the kind of calves I like to see. This works on the right kind of cattle here.

I would like to know from people around the Country their thoughts on Creep feeding. We use a Corn Gluten/Corn ration with some extra's.