Cost for setting out hay???

Help Support CattleToday:

j&lfarms

Reaction score
I had a guy ask me if I could set out about 30-40 rolls of hay. It will take me 3-5 hours to get the job done and I will have to drive about 20 min down the road. It won't be that big of a deal because I already have to drive down that way to pick up some other hay I'm buying for my own cows. How much would you all charge? It is mostly smooth land with a few steep hills. I have never done anything like this before and don't want to screw the guy over, but also want to make it worth my time. Should I charge by the hour, by the roll, or a set amount for just getting the job done? Thanks for taking the time to read and hopefully help me out.

I would do the same but that does put the recipient in kind of a tough spot. Case in point - I was having some combine problems this fall and a neighbor volunteered to help out. He ended up combining about 10-12 acres and after I was running again he let me use his wagons until I was finished. I went to settle up with him and he wouldn't take anything. I really don't want him to think I took advantage of him so I sent him a Christmas card with a $200 gift card and another $50 gift certificate at a local restaurant. Now I am left wondering if that was enough or if I insulted him by giving him the cards in the first place.

Maybe tell him $25 for fuel and if he is inclined he will write the check out for whatever he thinks it is worth.

ChrisB":3073rybj said: