commercial vs registered

Help Support CattleToday:

newcattleman

Reaction score
I live in SE Iowa. I have been raising a few (9-12)commercial cow and calves for a few years. Last year I tried to increase my herd size and that did not go as planned. I rented some ground and increased to 30 cows. Only 6 cows got bred, so I pounded out the bull and open cows. I also have 16 weaned calves (3-350lbs)(mostly steers).

I'm trying to figure out what to do from here. I was going to calve, rebreed (through AI), and keep the 6 cows. The calves I thought I would feed until May, sell, then buy and grow a new group until October. In October I would buy more cows to get back to 9-12.
I cant afford to restock the rented pasture, so I wont rent that again this year. I can only run about 9-12 cows at home, depending on hay to offset pasture.

I thought about replacing the herd with registered cows but I don't know if it would be worth it. Would it be beneficial to get registered stock vs. commercial stock at this size? What benefits would be available? I don't know anything about registered cattle other than selling breeding stock? Should I keep the calves longer and sell them bred or until bulls are ready to breed?
I also thought about selling the calves and running a dry lot for 3-600lb. calves?

I would appreciate any advice you can give.

If the rented ground is any good I would be putting the extra money you plan to spend on registered cattle to buying some trade cattle for the rented ground so that you get to hang on to it. I don't know what it is like there but good paddocks to rent are often hard to come by so I wouldn't be chopping and changing.
Ken

I don't know about where you are but here you do everything you can to keep a lease from getting away from you.

As far as I can tell there's no way to make money on 10 cows registered or commercial so I'd say do what you want. It's a hobby and you should do what you think will be most fun for you.

angus9259":2tf6zcdi said: