Red vs. Black Cows

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
Hello! I am very new to cattle. I have a small heard of 8, 7 heifers and a bull. 3 BWF and the rest are Solid Black. They are just now 1 yr old. I wanted to sell my bull to get a herferd bull around the same age to breed so i would get more baldies. However, i keep reading that there is a penalty at the sale barn for red cows. I have also seen it at the sale barn the Monday before Thanksgiving. A breed Herferd sold for less than $300 but a sold black breed cow sold for $600 something. I don't understand, can some of you explain this to me, please.

Thanks in advance.
Jeff

Hello! I am very new to cattle. I have a small heard of 8, 7 heifers and a bull. 3 BWF and the rest are Solid Black. They are just now 1 yr old. I wanted to sell my bull to get a herferd bull around the same age to breed so i would get more baldies. However, i keep reading that there is a penalty at the sale barn for red cows. I have also seen it at the sale barn the Monday before Thanksgiving. A breed Herferd sold for less than $300 but a sold black breed cow sold for $600 something. I don't understand, can some of you explain this to me, please.

Thanks in advance.
Jeff

It's politics and PR. The Angus association has convinced the grocery buying house wives of this country that; if it isn't black angus it's an inferior product.

If you feed cattle the same, it doesn't matter what color they are. They will taste the same.

Your bwf hfrs will have a pretty good chance of having red neck baldie calves, as will your blks that carry the red gene.

If you want to raise baldie calves out of the set of hfrs that you currently have. Bred them to a low birth Angus bull, get the first calf out of them. Then find a good BWF Simmental bull. He'll throw blk and bwf calves.
Good Luck, and welcome to CT.