Calf won't take milk but..(pic)

Help Support CattleToday:

hideseek.jpg

Just thought that I would let everyone know that so far the little guy has made it, he is the one with white on face. Local dairy suggested using the electrolyte called Deliver, we used that and gave him a shot of long acting penicillin. Not sure what turned him around but he quit scouring and got a good appetite after that. Gave him some probios and so far all has been well. Thanks for all the suggestions as we had tried everything we knew and really did not want to sell our troubles to someone else.

Tom, way to go! You gotta give yourself a pat on the back. You and I have talked a lot about our Cattle, and you are doing a fine job.That little guy has come a long way...

pretty little thing and from the picture i couldn't tell he was feeling poorly
hats off to you tom4018

As my name implies, I'm a newbie - but I have had success raising an orphan. MY vet advised us to feed only whole mike - not replacer. He said "you have a sick calf now so you don't need to worry about scours - which you will have with replacer." It worked! At first I mixed 3 cups whole mik with 1 cup water then went to all milk in a nurser bottle. No scours!!Calf is now almost 1 month old, grafted on to a good cow, grazing and is really big. Good luck on your baby

Tom,
I was following the posts-congratulations on the calf. He looks like a healthy calf. Good job. I had one that wouldn't nurse his mother for almost a week. We tubed him and I was to the point that I was going to give up on him and finally he started nursing. He's a big healthy calf now, weaned him last week. Sometimes I think I don't know anything about cattle even though I've been around them all of my life. They sometimes have a mind of their own. Good luck with him. :)