Calf milk replacer vs powdered milk.

Help Support CattleToday:

greggy

Reaction score
Hi all,

A vet was telling me powdered milk is just as good as the various milk replacers aimed at us.

It kinda makes sense that it should be ok.

However, I was looking at ingredients for both a local powdered milk, and the milk replacer, could not find exact details.

But the powdered milk for us has the below,....

Ingredients
Full Cream Milk, Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin)

What are your thoughts....they def smell different.

The soy lecithin in powdered milk is only used as a preservative and shouldn't cause any issues with digestion like soy proteins would. I've got no experience with feeding powdered milk to calves, though.

Milk replacers are usually formulated from by-products of dairy processing adding animal fats(tallow mostly as far as I know) plus vitamins & minerals. Some MR's include probiotics, antibiotics & antibacterials...

It most MR's a curd is formed in the abomasum of the calf like cows milk and as it is digested nutrients are slowly released.

Recently read an article and found this interesting - do we always stick to the directions on a pack -

"Too frequent feeding of too much milk replacer can lead to abomasal-induced milk bloat. This occurs when the newer clot envelopes the old, partially digested clot of milk replacer, reducing the opportunity for gases to escape and causing distension of the abomasum. It can also lead to overfilling of the abomasum and the spilling over of unclotted replacer into the intestines: a certain cause of calf scours."

I have fed them 2 lots of the local store human powdered full cream milk.

They suckle it all down no drama, is a very different smell and no doubt taste, but, it is prob basically cows milk. No unusual effects so far, no difference in stool noticed as yet.