buying a set of corriente or longhorn cattle

Help Support CattleToday:

Newcutter

Reaction score
If bought cheap enough would buy a set of corriente or longhorn be worth buying? if so what would you breed to them.

Good bred cows are cheaper now....that said I don't see anything wrong with buying longhorns and Corrientes. Breed them to Charolais, Limousin, Beefmaster or Belgian Blue bull and you'll have nice set of calves.

I've been messing with longhorns for a few years now just because I like them and they are the lowest maintenance cows there are in my opinion. As far as beefiness the best calves I've had were from a charolais bull. As far as heifers to keep for brood cows I have had some really nice ones out of a Herford bull.

So you are saying if you had some rough country that was in unsuitable to run regular beef cattle on, and had the opportunity to buy some cheap longhorn or corriente you wouldn't buy some and run them on it.

id buy some if i could find them, low maintenance = low imputs. plus you can run alot more corrientes on the same pasture than regular beef cows. i bet a guy could make more money with corrientes running more head breeding them to a char bull feeding them cheap hay all winter! and forget how to get to the feed store cause those cows dont need welfare bags. o yea and you can expect them to stay in the herd longer

Newcutter":10xvy8yr said:
So you are saying if you had some rough country that was in unsuitable to run regular beef cattle on, and had the opportunity to buy some cheap longhorn or corriente you wouldn't buy some and run them on it.

No, the margins are thin enough on good cattle much less junk. You may feed less but you still have the same equipment, same fences, etc to raise longhorns as a higher grossing breed.

I've seen really nice cattle raised in some really tough areas. I don't buy that some thing is only longhorns country.

Newcutter":32xmria4 said: