BULLS FEET

Help Support CattleToday:

USNAVY8488

Reaction score
I have recently noticed my 3 year old Black Angus Bulls gate has changed. His blood line has New Design and Traveler in it. His back toes are longer than normal so I had a friend look at him for me. He recommened I sale him for slaughter at the sale barn because the feet could be trimmed but he has bad confirmation traits. I'm just starting out and he was my first bull. He is very docile and and a herd sire so I called the vet to get there take on the problem. The vet said to let him be and just watch him that if I have him trimmed the problem would just come back in a year. Has anyone had this problem and what would be some good advice.

You have him now so I would use him as much as you need to. I would get his feet trimmed to help keep him up to the job, yes you will probably have to get them done again but that is cheaper than a new bull for now. As for retaining heifers, it does not necessarily mean that they will be like him. Just be carefull with what you choose.
Sounds like your vet was being a bit lazy.
Ken

A lot would depend on whether the condition was genetic or nutritional. If it was caused by improper nutrition it won't be passed on.

wbvs58":3kh4m35j said:
You have him now so I would use him as much as you need to. I would get his feet trimmed to help keep him up to the job, yes you will probably have to get them done again but that is cheaper than a new bull for now. As for retaining heifers, it does not necessarily mean that they will be like him. Just be carefull with what you choose.
Ken

Seems that by that reasoning, you could overlook just about any faults. I would say the probability of his heifers having the problem are higher in a bull with feet problems than one without. There may be other factors besides genetics, like nutrition and type of ground, but better genetics might do better in the same situation.