Bull or Steer?

Help Support CattleToday:

ERodrig

Reaction score
I have a bull that is a little over 15 months old that is not shaping up to well. He's got decent muscling, but is very small. He took a long time to get this far. I have a Beefmaster bull that I bought for my herd so I don't need the little guy anymore. I was thinking of letting him fatten up a bit and butchering him for freezer meat. Is there any advantage to cutting him or is it too late for that? Any input would greatly be appreciated.

IMO, it would be a bit late to cut him. Besides, there's plenty of folks on here that wouldn't have a problem with butchering a bull. Like you say he's small but got muscling on him, so by all means, put the knife to him.

ERodrig":6pcob83j said:
I have a bull that is a little over 15 months old that is not shaping up to well. He's got decent muscling, but is very small. He took a long time to get this far. I have a Beefmaster bull that I bought for my herd so I don't need the little guy anymore. I was thinking of letting him fatten up a bit and butchering him for freezer meat. Is there any advantage to cutting him or is it too late for that? Any input would greatly be appreciated.

You can cut a bull at any age.

I personally would not bother now. You can butcher a young virgin bull and not notice any difference in quality of meat. Just finish him off and eat him.

Regards

Bez>

i worked in the packing plant/beef industry quite awhile and i'd say if you're going to butcher him, i'd advise to cut him. although it is never too late to cut a bull, if the meat is ending up on your own table, the sooner you cut him the the better. a major reason bull meat is poor quality meat is from the hormones in the animal - the same hormones you are reducing by turning "him" into "it".