Bread question

Help Support CattleToday:

tlark19

Reaction score
I have 8 head and i've been feeding bread for about 4 months now....i give em 11 loaves every other day they also got grass and hay to eat..i guess my question is is 11 to much or should i give more...could i go 11 everyday? Thanks

I know some people on here feed bread, but it has long been a pet peeve of mine. My advice is to quit feeding bread altogether.

Thats like feeding around 1/4 lb feed /day/hd
Common loaf size is a little over 1 lb, there is significant moisture in that lb and you are feeding every other day.
Pretty insignificant supplementation

If you do start feeding more
Do NOT feed every other day- you would be screwing with their rumen bugs.

kenny thomas":legymitz said:
Angie, I have never fed bread but what is the problem with it?
It is a processed grain. It is the animals job to process the grain. Too much is lost in the processing and bread is basically nutritionally incomplete ~ empty calories. One of those things they can starve to death eating. See?

Without insulting a new poster, I cannot express my opinion on this practice. So I will leave it at that and welcome them to the board!

angie":17vhgr36 said:
kenny thomas":17vhgr36 said:
It is a processed grain. It is the animals job to process the grain. Too much is lost in the processing and bread is basically nutritionally incomplete ~ empty calories. One of those things they can starve to death eating. See?

Without insulting a new poster, I cannot express my opinion on this practice. So I will leave it at that and welcome them to the board!
May be emptty calories but feeding enough of it will sure put a bloom on a cow/bull. Had neighbors that had a say old bread store. The stuff they couldn;t sell they brought home and fed to their cows and bull (charolais) and also pigs. Cattle got the bread kind of stuff and the pigs got the sweets.