Bez>'s Horn Problem

Help Support CattleToday:

Bez>

Reaction score
Well, I am attempting something I have never done before.

We run Horned Herfs. And we have one real nice - good quality heifer we kept over from last year. Running in the big pasture and feeding with the cows on straight hay.

I had not checked them in a couple of days so went for a look to make sure they were all doing OK before I leave the place for a couple of months.

Darned if I did not find her with her right horn almost ripped off - bleeding had stopped so it was obvious she had been that way for a couple of days.

Horn is about 3 inches lone. I can think of a dozen scenarios on how this happened and in the end it is not important because "done is done".

Ran her into the squeeze and cut the rest of the horn off - but all of the meat was there and scabbed over pretty nice. Actually it came off pretty nice in my hand with a slight tug.

Wife and I were get ready to cut everything off and do a bit of a burn - then an old fella from down the road stops in. He has a look and made a suggestion that I complied with - albeit with some trepidation.

Leave it alone.

All our keeprs run with horns - and the "quick" had hardened up pretty well. Froze the quick and cleaned it up a bit - then coated it with Boroform - a spay one antiseptic. Gave her a shot of Duplocillin - a long acting penecillin based product and put her in an isolation pen. Hardly any flies.

Ordinarily I would have done a complete and relatively thorough amputation - but the old guy said he was once successful in not losing the horn - although it took a long time to grow back - it did eventually come to almost equal the other horn.

So she is in isolation - has been cleaned up and given a couple of shots to keep any infection down.

Not often I ask for advice from folks about horns but this is new to me.

Wife will keep an eye on it and watch for infection - treat it and call the vet if it gets out of hand.