Best way to buy

Help Support CattleToday:

dbc

Reaction score
What does everyone think is the best way to buy cattle. I'm a college student who only works part time and has a limited amount of income. is it better to buy a cow as i get the money or save up and buy 3 or 4 at a time??

I think I would prefer to buy as many as i could at one time because of fuel cost to transport. Thats assuming I had to transport.

You'd be better off buying cattle a couple at a time. Remember, they are herd animals, that do better if not alone. Plus, take you're time when purchasing, no need to get in a hurry, be picky and get what you want,As you can afford them.And make sure they're good Cattle.Hopefully, you already have a mentor, that can help you along.

Why noy just wait till you are done with school. That way if the only job available in your area of study is across the country, you can easily relocate without having to disperse first.
I could have been a long way from here more than once if I just didn't have so much holding me to this spot.
Hind sight is 20/20. Just don't miss too many opportunities while you are young because there are chores at home. You have your whole life to do chores, live a little while you are in college.
Sorry for rambling, I'm done now.

where they would be is a family farm so there would be someone to look after them, but thanks for the advice

dbc, you are already on the right track. The best way to buy cattle is with cash, especially if you are starting out. Although experts are often wrong, many predict we are at the peak of the current cattle cycle, if so, it wouldn't hurt to continue to save and get more for your money as we come down off the highs.

dbc":2pncczjq said:
where they would be is a family farm so there would be someone to look after them, but thanks for the advice