Bermuda-Hybrids vs. Common?

Help Support CattleToday:

Z&J Cattle

Reaction score
Hello Everyone. I have purchased 16 acres of row crop land (currently soybeans) and I am going to fence it this fall and sew bermuda next spring. I am going to run cow/calf on it (hopefully about 16 momma cows eventually). I don't know much about the different types of Bermuda and their respective pros and cons. I have taken soil samples and had them to do a recommendation for bermuda and all that is needed is a little nitrogen. We have also looked at the soil map for the property and it shows to be category one soil, which should be excellent for bermuda production. I am located in Northeast Arkansas if that helps to give a general idea of my climate. If I understand correctly, common Bermuda is seeded, while hybrid has to be sprigged. Is this correct? Also, I believe that I read somewhere that the seeds from common bermuda could possibly be harmful to the cows. Is this also correct? I am new to all this and am just looking for some direction so that when next spring arrives, I will be ready to do whatever it is that I decide to do. Obviously, I am looking for the most cost effective way to establish the pasture (along with everyone else, I'm sure). As I have read several times, we are grass farmers that market our product through beef, I am very determined to establish very good pasture. I am starting with bare ground, so why not do it right to begin with. With the size of my land (16 acres) I almost feel that I am in some way at an advantage over some with larger pastures, because it will be easier/cheaper to maintain my pasture at the level that I would like to. Any advice or information that any of you may have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Zach

Contact your local Extension agent. They have a better idea as to what varieties do well in your area.