Belgians Blues X Holsteins, Any ideas for the heifers

Help Support CattleToday:

beznas

Reaction score
I'm trying to start a small mixed production operation (milk & meat)
A friend of mine offered me some cross bred heifers (6 mos old):
  • Holsteins sired with Belgian Blues
  • Holsteins sired with Charolais

He's keeping the male calves for beef production

My questions are:

• Any ideas what breed would I cross them with for a better heterosis?
  • Sire them with Montbeliards? Limousin? Charolais? BBB?

Any ideas? Any recommendations? Thanks a lot

I am concerned about Holstein x Belgian Blue heifers since I've heard Belgian Blue cross cows often have birthing problems, althrough I have no experience with this cross.

beznas":12wrobd4 said:
I'm trying to start a small mixed production operation (milk & meat)
A friend of mine offered me some cross bred heifers (6 mos old):
  • Holsteins sired with Belgian Blues
  • Holsteins sired with Charolais

He's keeping the male calves for beef production

My questions are:

• Any ideas what breed would I cross them with for a better heterosis?
  • Sire them with Montbeliards? Limousin? Charolais? BBB?

Any ideas? Any recommendations? Thanks a lot

First, belgian blue sired heifers milks far more than charolais sired heifers.
Out of the mentioned breeds all provide good heterosis, except for charolais on charolais sired heifers. Charolais is not a breed to AI heifers with at all due to very big calves. Limousin gives you good muscle and and growth, and very little milk.
Montbeliarde has more milk and decent growth, and less muscle.

Use VIKING RED semen this first year, safer calvings than holstein, more muscle than holsteins, less than montbelliarde, somewhere halfway between. And the provide good milk, closer to holsteins than to montbelliarde.
Later years, stay on the same course, or if meat is very important, go to montbelliarde.