auto head gate-swing type

Help Support CattleToday:

mountainranch

Reaction score
Hi everyone
I'm nearing completion of my coral, working chute project. I 'll be using an old swing type automatic headgate. How do you determine the width you need to set the gate opening? With the gate open to the fullest ,it seems like a cow might get caught behind the shoulders. I have never used a headgate before and dont want to cause a wreck. Also, Would 28" be a good width for the headgate chute? I'll be working angus cattle.
THANKS

mountainranch":3p01ul7o said:
Hi everyone
I'm nearing completion of my coral, working chute project. I 'll be using an old swing type automatic headgate. How do you determine the width you need to set the gate opening? With the gate open to the fullest ,it seems like a cow might get caught behind the shoulders. I have never used a headgate before and dont want to cause a wreck. Also, Would 28" be a good width for the headgate chute? I'll be working angus cattle.
THANKS

On mine they have three settings. I set my on the 1st setting for goats and calves under 400lbs. I use 2nd setting for calves and cows to 1100lbs. over 1000lb bulls will probally require the 3rd setting. I usually end up using the 2nd setting alittle to early. I dont know if this helps any. If in doubt I'd use the 2nd just in case and be close as possible so i could release if need be.

mountainranch":k8ooae6q said:
I 'll be using an old swing type automatic headgate.

THANKS

I think you are describing a manual self catch but I am not truly sure.

If so: Set your chute the full width for your biggest cow. When you get a large calf or heifer coming through the chute all you have to do is manually close it a little and it will self catch in the identical manner on smaller cattle. The real secret to these things is to get the animal moving hard into it.

If that is not what you are describing, my apologies.

mountainranch":rtpkgzhl said:
Hi everyone