Acceptable Loss Rate Heifers Calving

Help Support CattleToday:

Bigdog13

Reaction score
This is my first year in the beef cattle business, my ranch is located in east Texas. I don't live there and therefore I have a ranch manger; he is trustworthy, hard working, knowledgeable guy and I've known him my whole life. I bought 40 cows, 20 calves (all in good shape no issues, they are starting make good looking heifers from one ranch, I bought another 20 bred Brangus heifers, AI'ed to an Angus bull. I've been told by my neighbors and my grandfather before he passed that the 20 Brangus heifers were about as good a set of cows as you can buy, paid a premium for a real good set. I bought them off a big ranch with very good stock, I was told they were all due in late March. Well we've already had 7 calves drop. We lost 2 of those calves in birth and a heifer. Both calves that died weighed over 80lbs. My ranch manager did all he could to save that heifer, had the vet out, hope it was some nerve damage but she didn't make it. I really don't think my ranch manager is doing anything wrong, he happened on the last still born right as she was first starting to calf and it still died, he weighed that one at 86lbs!