Absolute Beginner HELP

Help Support CattleToday:

tim1970

Reaction score
Here is my situation. I just bought my house and approx 6 acres of fenced pasture in North east Texas. I would like to obtain 2 or 3 head of cattle for consumption purposes for my family, and a couple of other neighbor families. I am not looking to make money off of this, just supply beef for all of us. Since I am new to all of this, I have many questions. Hopefully I can get some great advice from here....

1. Am I crazy for even attempting this? Do I have enough Land?

2. What type of cattle do I need to look at?

3. I have been reading auction reports from my region and it might as well be in another language. What are the different types of cattle? Slaughter cows? Stocker Cows? Feeder Cows?

4. What size do I want to consider buying? When I see prices for calves, do they mean just born (not Weened) or several months old?

5. Here is a sample market price summary. Could someone help me decipher?

Slaughter cows, young heifer type cows, $60-80, utility and commercial cows $40-55, canners and cutters $25-39, good and choice bulls $60-68, medium-good bulls $55-59.
Stocker and feeder yearlings, steers, good-choice 6-7 $100-108, medium-good 6-7 $90-99, heifers, good-choice 6-7 $90-100; medium-good 6-7 $82-89.
Good-choice cows NT. Good-choice pairs NT. Common-medium cows NT. Common-medium pairs NT.
Baby calves $100-200.
Stocker and feeder calves, steers, 200-300 lbs., good-choice $140-170, medium-good $125-139, 300-400 lbs., good-choice $125-145, medium-good $111-124, 400-500 lbs., good-choice $110-127, medium-good $100-109, 500-600 lbs., good-choice $105-118, medium-good $90-104. Heifers, 200-300 lbs., good-choice $140-165, medium-good $130-139; 300-400 lbs., good-choice $120-140; medium-good $110-119; 400-500 lbs., good-choice $110-119, medium-good $102-109; 500-600 lbs., good-choice $105-112, medium-good $100-104.
Holstein steer calves, 200-400 lbs., 400-600 lbs., NT.