Young Bull.........Opinions Requested

Help Support CattleToday:

robertwhite

Reaction score
This Simm/Beef bull turns 9 months old today. Please give me some opinions about him. He is currently weighing in at well over 800lbs. I think he is pretty nice, but I am quite new to this. His father was a HUGE bull who unfortunately had to go to auction as he came up lame one day (knee)

The Red Simm/Beef Heifer just turned 11 months recently. She is a little out of shape due to the winter months and I am going to start a higher protein feed program. Opinions about her are also welcome.

Hopefully I will get a nice calf out of these two sometime down the road.

JJ9mths2.jpg

JJ9mths3.jpg

JJ9mths.jpg

Scarlett11mths.jpg

i would be real careful about putting that sim-x bull on a heifer.sims r not normally known for calving ease.i know that there r certain sim bulls that are calving ease but they r proven.i would defiantely not do it myself especially since the bull don't look to be more than a slaughter animal.

For our area, this bull would go to slaughter. It is horned, so it will more than likely throw horned calves, and we get docked if the calves horns have not been removed or pasted properly. Feedlots prefer no horns. They themselves would have to remove them and that costs money in weight loss recovery.
The bull's dingy looks odd. Yes I know there is hair in the area, but it looks swollen.
Not really good shots
Need one of the rear end so we can see the scrotom and how the legs stand.
need one where the calf is standing proper with both legs under him in the same position.
High hips and the tail bone looks a bit higher than the back. This could cause a calf to be stuck a the hips during calving. Not good! You want something straight across
Head is a big sim square head. Gonna be tough to get them calves out.

Showed hubby the pics. He has no idea of our previous thread conversations