What type bull?

Help Support CattleToday:

baileyl

Reaction score
Hey, I am a newbie, had a few cattle for some time BUT here's the question. My angus bull is aging and needs to be replaced. He has produduced no problems {sizewize}. I run mixed breed cows. My area is strong in angus, charolais and limos. Any experienced opinions here? Thanks a lot!

baileyl":bfy414l0 said:
Hey, I am a newbie, had a few cattle for some time BUT here's the question. My angus bull is aging and needs to be replaced. He has produduced no problems {sizewize}. I run mixed breed cows. My area is strong in angus, charolais and limos. Any experienced opinions here? Thanks a lot!
Sell the old bull and buy another Angus bettern the old one was. Keep improving your quality and topping the markets.

You're looking for a new bull, you run mixed breeds, sounds like a good time to check out Murray Greys. You may be surprised at what they can bring to your herd. ;-) Here's a couple of links to check out:

http://www.murraygrey.org

http://www.murraygreybeefcattle.com

One of the biggest advantages of the Murray Grey breed is their docility, another advantage is their low birth weight and rapid growth when they hit the ground, they are good mothers (even as 2 year-olds) and good milkers. What have you got to lose?

Do you sell them as calves? Are your mixed cows more % british or Continental? If more percent british then go with a charolais or Limo bull. If not go with another Angus. Around here charolais have been popular for years but so far this year the limo calves have been selling a bit better. The stocker I was talking to at the sale barn said he has started to buy more Limos because they seem to put on the beef some faster then the charolais

la4angus":37vstxsl said:
baileyl":37vstxsl said:
Sell the old bull and buy another Angus bettern the old one was. Keep improving your quality and topping the markets.

Thats a good idea to continue with the Angus program...