Turkey Hunting

Help Support CattleToday:

bandit80

Reaction score
Any turkey hunters on site??

I think the season probably starts in the southern states about now. Our season opens April 1-8 for archery/youth/disabled hunters, and then April 9-May 31 for any and all hunters.

Tried the archery season last year, but no luck. Will try again this year. Was able to take two nice gobblers with my shotgun.

I always look forward to turkey season. It usually means spring is here, grass is green, and calving is all but over. And what a thrill it is as well. Nothing like a big gobbler coming in spittin' and drummin'. Gets my heart racing every time.

A guy gets luckey sometimes and finds some good morels to go with that turkey breast :banana:

Season starts here on March 29. This is my first year to go turkey hunting so its all new to me. I plan on going out and locating some gobblers this week and hopefully opening morning I'll bag one. The limit here is 4 gobblers

sewall":1xw9ufcw said:
Season starts here on March 29. This is my first year to go turkey hunting so its all new to me. I plan on going out and locating some gobblers this week and hopefully opening morning I'll bag one. The limit here is 4 gobblers

Our limit in Kansas is 2 gobblers. I have been fortunate to take two the last several years, but that is a tremendous challenge some years. I don't think I could take 4 legally. I know there are a lot of Rios in Texas, so you must have a higher turkey density.

If you are new to turkey hunting, you might check out http://www.turkeyandturkeyhunting.com if you haven't already. They have a forumn you can sign up on with oodles of information about turkey hunting. Much like this site is for raising cattle.

Thanks for the link bandit!

MORE ragging from the wife about my lazy butt sitting at the computer! :lol: :lol:

About a month to wait for opening. Then my lazy butt will be in the turkey woods :D

ALX.":2tnnhrdm said:
Thanks for the link bandit!