Simangus

Help Support CattleToday:

Simmental7":dcgjotyu said:
and why you decided that way

Simply because thats what I started with. I've always had simmental cows and my last two bulls have been angus.

fitz

I'm kind of the mix up backwards kid, I have sim cows, ang cows, and sim cross cows. Ive been breeding them to a purebred simmy bull, and a Sim-Char-Ang Bull. Cows that I want show calves and cows that need more bone, milk, and go good with the purebred I breed to #1. The ones that need more growth and over all mass goes to bull #2. But the plan by next year is to just breed to the purebred and see how that goes.
But i'm not a expert and i'm still trying to figure out which way to breed them, but that's the fun of cross breeding.
Next i'm going to see how some Maine-Sim-Ang calves will turn out.
Good luck on finding your mix!

sim.-ang.king":3d0c2olj said:
I'm kind of the mix up backwards kid, I have sim cows, ang cows, and sim cross cows. Ive been breeding them to a purebred simmy bull, and a Sim-Char-Ang Bull. Cows that I want show calves and cows that need more bone, milk, and go good with the purebred I breed to #1. The ones that need more growth and over all mass goes to bull #2. But the plan by next year is to just breed to the purebred and see how that goes.
But i'm not a expert and i'm still trying to figure out which way to breed them, but that's the fun of cross breeding.
id like to see that bull

Well since the traits for inheritance on the performance side (growth) and carcass merit side comes from the Sire, we normally have better calves using Simm Cows and either a Red or Black Angus Herd Sire.

Heritability estimates of beef cattle traits.

Scrotal circumference (Fertility Measurement) 40-55%
Postweaning daily gain 40-45%
Postweaning daily feed consumption 50-55%
Final feedlot weight 50-55%
Yearling weight 50-55%
% Ribeye area 60-65%
Fat thickness 40-55%
Marbling score 40-45%
Tenderness score 50-60%