Sick Cow, please help

Help Support CattleToday:

triumph

Reaction score
I have a holstein bull that has come down sick. His eyes are crusted over, his nose is runny and he has become extremely thin. We have started feeding him away from the others and gave him a dose of electrolytes. Does his symptoms sound like pneumonia? Do you have any suggestions? I am new to this (farming) and I am learning as I go.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!! Thank you all!!!!

If it's not pneumonia, it's some other vile respiratory illness brought on by allergens, lousy weather, virus, bacteria...who knows. A vet is definitely your best bet. Call your vet up and tell him/her you need some really good prescription antibiotics...FAST! Also, ask for some banamine, and ask the vet about the dosage. If you can't get hold of a vet, and you know other cattle raisers, call them.

Good luck,

Alice

What Alice said. I would use a thermometer on him. It's cheap easy to use and gives a lot of insight into the nature and severity of disease.

Larry

milkmaid":v99tr0i6 said:
How old? how much does he weigh now?

how long have you owned him?

He is one year old and weighs about 440lbs, I've had him approximately 4 months. The electrolytes have seemed to help some, they perked him up and his appetite has seemed to have picked up as well. I have become very attached to this guy as he was sick when we got him home from the stockyard.

Thank you to all who have replied!

Ya' know what? If electrolytes perk him up, then keep giving them.

As old as he is...and if he was sick when you got him...and if you've become attached...then whatever it takes to keep him going is what I would do. However, I'd still try like crazy to get some good antibiotics into him.