Should I buy these heifers? Im a newbie

Help Support CattleToday:

hicky214

Reaction score
Well as I have posted before Im a New one in this "business". Im spending 50 times what I'm making but to be honest Im loving it. I grew up with cows now at 33 and with plenty of land available I'm getting back in. So I am buying cows slowly. But most of what I have looked at has been culls and junk. I was coming home from work today and I was following a trailer full of hay. So I pulled in when the man turned and asked if he was looking to sell any hay as I need enough to get me through. Long story short he has 220 head and he has 10 nice looking heifers that have been bread to a registered easy calving bull. Roughly 16 months old and 800-900 pounds. He said he would take 1200.00 for them. I have never had a heifer and have read the stories. But I am in this for the long haul and I need some breeders. All of my cows are 5-8 year olds and all up to calve by May. They have been vet checked. She said one was 8 months pregnant 29 days ago and she calved today. But looking towards the future what should a younger farmer do? The heifers have been with the bull for around 2months so one assumes they are bread but I don't want to purchase an unbread heifer

I appreciate all of your advice

Red Bull Breeder":2f0g1le0 said:
Do you really want in the cattle business. If you do what are you waiting on.
I agree, the first set of heifers I calved out was a pot load. The experience in priceless. You will have to do it sometime...

I wouldn't buy them if you don't have a bull for them to be with a while longer. Other than that I think they would be fine.

There alot to go back and forth on about heifers, I don't keep many anymore because I can sell them and buy a bred cow for just a few hundred difference and make money quicker. But honestly I think as long as there good, heifers are sometimes the best way to go.