Raising stockers on the gain

Help Support CattleToday:

Family Tradition

Reaction score
I've never done this before so I wanted ya'lls thoughts on letting someone place stockers on your pasture and get paid for the gain. Sounds good would like to hear pros & cons & prices. TIA

i have done it several times and have had more success than cow calf. I have one now that is not doing as expect but overall its been worth it.

I'm assuming by gain, you're referring to weight -- not profit.. Otherwise, they could just turn your grass into enough cash to buy stuff they needed, then say "Sorry, we only broke even this year."

But even if we're talking weight, you're still at the mercy of someone else's talent for raising cattle and/or making good business decisions... Think about this: If you had enough calves that you could split them between two locations, and if one of those locations was willing to accept payment based on weight gain, would you send your best or worst gainers to the other place? If it were me, I'd maximize profit by sending my worst so the final bill would be lower, and I'd let my best graze the "free" grass at my own place...

Instead, why not shift the risk to the producer -- where it belongs -- by setting a fair price and leasing it out? That way, if someone with no-good stockers comes along and eats all your grass for naught, you still get paid and he takes the loss for choosing no-good stockers.

Good thoughts now you got me thinking. Yes I'm talking weight gain. What kind of money are we talking about for Lb. of gain?

Family Tradition":265hysjf said:
Good thoughts now you got me thinking. Yes I'm talking weight gain. What kind of money are we talking about for Lb. of gain?

They pay .40 to .50 cents per lb. of gain here.

They allow only a small percentage of deaths, then the overall weight deductions start taking from your pocket.

Genetics can play a big part in whether you make or lose money.

Don't allow a bunch of scrubs.