Pregnant cow needs?

Help Support CattleToday:

Gliderider

Reaction score
Hi again,
I am awaiting the arival of two bred highland cows(my first) and have a few feeding questions before they get here. My background is in horses and the two dairy calves I have now.
First- I feed my calves horse/cattle feed, the tag is as follows.
Protein - 10%
Fat - 3%
Fiber - 15%
Calcium - 1.2%
Salt - 1%
Phorsphorus - .4%
Potassium - .6%
Copper
Selnium
Zinc
Vit. A
Is this sufficent for a pregnant cow? Should I add something with more fat? When you want to add fat to a horses diet without adding protien you add corn/veggie oil or Black Oil Sunflower seeds(Not for horses with HYPP, too high in Potassium)
What else does a pregnant cow require?
Do I need to worm them now before they calve? If so with what? I have some more questions but I'll post them under the right topics. Thanks for any help you can give me.

the tagg on the feed you posted is just fine to feed to bred cows.they only need 5 or 6lbs grain a day.plus free choice salt an minerals.as for worming.id wait till they calve.then worm them 3wks after calving.

Gliderider":3gcjgcc1 said:
Hi again,
I am awaiting the arival of two bred highland cows(my first) and have a few feeding questions before they get here. My background is in horses and the two dairy calves I have now.
First- I feed my calves horse/cattle feed, the tag is as follows.
Protein - 10%
Fat - 3%
Fiber - 15%
Calcium - 1.2%
Salt - 1%
Phorsphorus - .4%
Potassium - .6%
Copper
Selnium
Zinc
Vit. A
Is this sufficent for a pregnant cow? Should I add something with more fat? When you want to add fat to a horses diet without adding protien you add corn/veggie oil or Black Oil Sunflower seeds(Not for horses with HYPP, too high in Potassium)
What else does a pregnant cow require?
Do I need to worm them now before they calve? If so with what? I have some more questions but I'll post them under the right topics. Thanks for any help you can give me.