Opinions needed?? Getting my feet wet.

Help Support CattleToday:

t5j1h2

Reaction score
Hey, folks. I think my last post on here was two years ago. I was new to cattle then and I'm new to cattle now. I guess I am more of a creeper than a participant to this forum. I have been wanting to get into the cattle business for awhile, just haven't took the plunge. Yea I have been around cattle most of my life, but haven't got to have tons of hands on experience. But all that is about to change and I am about to get my feet wet. Well maybe just my toes who knows.

Before, when I made a few post, my interest were in F1 tiger stripes. I still love looking at those brindle mommas, and everything I read says they are sure enough hard to beat when it comes to raising a calf in the southern part of the US, but I also get the impression from a lot of members posts that they are often times a little TOO maternal. I understand maternal traits are a good thing, but for a beginner aka myself, I'm a little sketchy on sinking my money into something that I can't handle.

What are y'all's opinions on breeds for someone just getting into the business? Located in SW Arkansas.

Brahman? Boy they sure are pretty, but without a name I don't foresee me being much of a seed stocks producer. That goes for any breed really, although I do think I would enjoy trying to raise some replacements of different breeds (tigers,black baldies, graymans, star 5, etc.).

Herefords? Docile,good temperament, and I may could produce some of my sought after Tiger stripes, but how about the management of the eye problems?

Angus? For some reason I'm just not on the Angus band wagon. But that doesn't mean my mind can't be changed, it's probably hard to beat a good set of them.

Composite breeds? Brangus/Santa gertrudis? I like both and I see where they can both make an argument. Do not know a lot about the SG though.