Opinion Needed

Help Support CattleToday:

skyhightree1

Reaction score
I have been renting some land from a older couple since 1998. They have no kids to leave there land too. Unfortunately the husband died this past week and the wife called me and asked did I want to purchase the farm I have been renting which is 118 acres about 6 miles down the road from my house. The wife asked me to be a paul bearer in which I agreed. I asked her how much did she want for the land she advised me that she didn't know she hadn't really thought about it. I looked up tax accessment and its accessed at $168,000. I really only wanted to offer $130,000 she said she really wanted me to buy it cause i took care of the land and $130,000 is my comfort zone anything more i may tell her to sell to someone else. Do you think it would be wrong to tell her before she gives me a price think about all the stuff I have done for them over the years and not charged them? They had a habit of always wanted me to work for free but they wanted there rent money and it better not be late. Should I mention that or just let her tell me what she wants then mention or not say anything at all ? I don't want to sound like im greedy or trying to take advantage of her but geez I have done alot for them and still continuing currently. I honestly will be pissed if I don't get a discounted price and anytime she calls me over to do storm clean up she will get a bill like everyone else no more freebies.

I would either offer what I could pay, or wait till she gave me a price then offer what I could pay. I sure wouldn't bring anything else into it. It's her land and she needs to get everything she can for it.

Take any needed repairs or problems with the place off the price
in order to get to a price your willing to pay. You might also
Consider selling part of it to get to an amount owed that your comfortable with.