Ok, I'm a rookie here, need advice starting out

Help Support CattleToday:

Utah

Reaction score
Yep, I was raised a military brat and never even had a chance to raise anything but hamsters and tropical fish.

I need some advice from a few of you on what to do. I'd like to raise a couple of yearlings I think for the freezer next Sept/Oct.

Here is my situation:
I have 3 acres, I'm trying to get irrigation water. Power is at the street nearby but no connection for me yet. No shelters or corrals yet either. Relatively high water table - so a surface drain may work too. No culinary water yet. The fence is there but needs repair in several places. I dont want to go searching out lost animals.

I need to know what week to look for good prices, I only want two.
What waterers and feeders are best. What is the best way to get them
transferred to my property. How do I catch them in the pasture when needed? What are the auctions like in a small community like Northern Utah?

What else might I need to know besides that I am foolish for getting into this at this stage in my life?

Thanks for any reply!

Utah

Utah,
Spend a couple of days searching specific questions here. Most of your questions have been asked before. Don't research it to death. Just get started by making sure cattle are allowed at your site. Secure your fence and find a quality cattle person where you are to get you started. They will get you started. You may pay above market prices but you will get lots of follow up help and support. The cattle will give you free lessons every day. Have fun.

I am also new to cattle(just fininshing our first year) and live in N. Utah. I have learned alot on these boards just crusing around gleeming info off of new and old posts. Hopefully we can bounce ideas off of each other and see what we can learn.