Need help selecting a bull

Help Support CattleToday:

Toad

Reaction score
I'm new at this cow calf thing. We ran steers for a number of years but last year decided to start switching to cow calf. Right now I have 25 cows on two different farms and I need to buy my first bull but I'm not sure what to get.
A buddy and I both run cows on this place, he offered to let me to go halves with him because he didn't have enough cows. We used his hereford bull last year and this year its my turn to provide a bull. He has hereford heifers there and I have my simangus that will be breeding back after calving this spring.
I will be looking at our local bull sale to see what I can come up with. But this is a new experience for me. All my buddy cares about is calving ease for his heifers and something black to give him baldies. I guess I will go with angus but they also offer simangus, gelbvieh and balancers. Thanks for any advice ahead of time.

If you are mainly selling weaned calves, the best bet would be to find a calving ease high growth angus bull and not worry about all the carcass traits. Whatever bull you bull I would look at the calving ease of the past 2 or 3 generations to give you better odds of getting a calving ease high growth bull. This of course will mean that you are probably looking at a registered angus bull from a breeder you trust since the EPD's for birth weight, calving ease, and growth are all based upon data the producer submits. Not sure how many head you expect one bull to cover but I would be careful and not overload the bull especially if he is very young. If you and your friend calve year round or at least a few months apart, the bull can cover more cows. Right now decent bulls are not cheap.