My Genetic plan.

Help Support CattleToday:

southernultrablack

Reaction score
I'm a small time producer,all registered, and raise a couple bulls a year and sell culls to a feeder. I've started my herd by buying small lots of heifers and a few older cows along the way. I'm at the point where I really want to get my cows ultra consistent phenotypically, and genetically. I really don't mind starting over, as I only have a small herd anyway, and am thinking of buying a donor female and trying to flush her to get a large sample of embryos to put in to try and get that consistency I want. What problems would y'all expect with not having genetic diversity in the herd? I expect that there will still be differences in the cattle produced this way, but I'm thinking this is the most efficient way to go at it.

"What problems would y'all expect with not having genetic diversity in the herd?"

Politics in the breed organization, buyer acceptance, quality of the tight based cattle, ....

Why buy a donor when you could just buy X embryos? The donor deal is tricky. Folks select some donors too early based on expectations. Others wait until the cow is old and might produce less embryos. The one that I find most absurd is the cow that does not breed is sold as a donor open and ready to flush. I know a couple of guys who bought a recip and embryo to get the cow. And the cow was a recip because she did not breed back on time. And now they flush her and do all of their buyers great favors in the potential calves from a lesser fertile dam. So buy embryos from decent folks who have assurances of their cattle quality.

You either float downstream with the rest of the purebred breeders or you choose your pool and stay the course. Part of it depends on your ego, your determination, your circumstances and your desire to sell big or stay local and useful. Do whatever suits you, be honest and sleep good at night.

Ebenezer said: