Modern method of saleing cattle

Help Support CattleToday:

Stepper

Reaction score
I am very new to the cattle business. But i can not help feel that the method of auctioning off cattle is a poor method of saleing cattle and that the cattle farmer ends up the loser when saleing cattle this way.

For example, a friend told me that his dad sold two steers that weighed and looked identical. He said you cold not tell them appart and they were the exact same weight. They ran them through the auction one right after the other. They sold for almost $ 200 difference in price. Now how could something like that happen ? I watched cattle sale at the barn like that alot. And i dont mean just every now and then. I am sure everyone here knows what i mean. At every sale when the cattle are being auctioned off. very alot in the prices even though alot of the cattle are about the same type of animal (size,weight,sex,color etc....,)

It looks like to me like with very little effort there could be alot better system of buying/saleing cattle. Does anyone else agree with this ? Or have any of you bigger cattle producers ever felt that there could be a better way of buying/saleing cattle than the old auction sale barn way of saleing cattle ?

Stepper":2ud9obf2 said:
I am very new to the cattle business. But i can not help feel that the method of auctioning off cattle is a poor method of saleing cattle and that the cattle farmer ends up the loser when saleing cattle this way.