Limo Heifer Feed Schedule?

Help Support CattleToday:

Northline

Reaction score
IMG_0114_zpsqeiscstg.jpg

IMG_0151_zpssb6xuqyw.jpg

This is my May 17/15 heifer that I plan on showing next year. She is about 400lbs at 4 months old and is nursing with free range to decent pasture and 14% calf ration. I know that naturally she will grow to a good size without feed like my past show heifers (1200lbs at a year and a half) but I'm looking to really fill her out and make her look like some of the giant heifers you'll see at the Royal. Does anyone have any suggestions about feeding schedule? I know how to work with cattle I am just new with the nutrition end of things. I appreciate the help! :D

Those giant heifers are fed hard, to the point some might never make a decent cow, there is also the birth date issue, your 12 month heifer might be 2 months younger than the 12 month old heifer next to her.

Feed her a good starter /developer, higher protein and less fat (14 / 3) and plenty of roughage, you can add cotton seed hulls or beat pulp to get some volume on her. Just make sure you don't get her to fat if you plan on using her for a cow down the line. You really walk a fine line between keeping them right and pushing them too far when it comes to show heifers.

VCC":3bfe1h5m said:
Those giant heifers are fed hard, to the point some might never make a decent cow, there is also the birth date issue, your 12 month heifer might be 2 months younger than the 12 month old heifer next to her.

Feed her a good starter /developer, higher protein and less fat (14 / 3) and plenty of roughage, you can add cotton seed hulls or beat pulp to get some volume on her. Just make sure you don't get her to fat if you plan on using her for a cow down the line. You really walk a fine line between keeping them right and pushing them too far when it comes to show heifers.