Thoughts on this clubby show heifer?

Help Support CattleToday:

You are trying to go to the top without paying your dues. Yes, anyone's Daddy can buy the winning show heifer and have 4 people fit it up for a show. Get used to it. That is what you are against if you think you want to go to the big shows.
I've been breeding for 50 years, and I can't hold a candle to some of the top show farms. Do I win - absolutely, a lot - but I stay in my league. If I was heading to Denver or Louisville, I would need fitters to come close to competing. We do very little fitting. I win with functional working cattle - not cream puffs.
But, you won't win anything no matter how much you pay if they don't have good feet & legs.
Simme gave you GREAT advice.
@BFE - what you said is NOT wrong. Most people ruin a heifer/cow/bull.

You are trying to go to the top without paying your dues. Yes, anyone's Daddy can buy the winning show heifer and have 4 people fit it up for a show. Get used to it. That is what you are against if you think you want to go to the big shows.
I've been breeding for 50 years, and I can't hold a candle to some of the top show farms. Do I win - absolutely, a lot - but I stay in my league. If I was heading to Denver or Louisville, I would need fitters to come close to competing. We do very little fitting. I win with functional working cattle - not cream puffs.
But, you won't win anything no matter how much you pay if they don't have good feet & legs.
Simme gave you GREAT advice.
@BFE - what you said is NOT wrong. Most people ruin a heifer/cow/bull.
If she isn't that good don't make me come down there to NY and buy one of your Simmys:ROFLMAO:

A little perspective on showing. About 20 years ago, my kids showed simmental cattle. This is a tale of two heifers.