Howdy. Newbie here.

Help Support CattleToday:

cackalackygirl

Reaction score
Hello there! I am a newbie here and to this whole world. Selling my cookie cutter house on .12 acres (!) and buying a 100+ year old farmhouse on 15+ acres. I'm pretty excited.

The farm already has 2 fenced pastures. I was thinking about getting one cow. This may be a silly question, but can you have just one cow, or do they need companionship? Are there any resources (other than the Extension office - I am already aware and have contacted them) that can help me? If I am literally starting from square one and know NOTHING about raising cattle, what is the best way to learn? By doing, or is there some kind of cow book that I can buy? Should I look into hiring a cow raising mentor?

PS - wanted to say that this is a hobby for me and I am not planning to make $ from it, just provide for the family some fresh, real food and possibly dairy.

:welcome: Welcome to CA!
I'm pretty much a cow newbie too--moved from city to country 3 years ago, and went from 0 to about 10 cows. If you put your location in your profile, it will help people here tailor their advice for your climate/conditions.

Conventional wisdom is that cows prefer a buddy, that it can be hard on them to be alone. They're herd animals.

I read Storey's Guide to Raising Beef Cattle (sort of the definitive beginner's how-to book) by Heather Smith Thomas; then branched out into reading Angus Ass'n website, Cornell publications, and other related sources.

I know others will weigh in too.

Good luck with your new adventure!

Cows do better with a companion. The bst bet would be to find a mentor that is willing to work with you, other then that, find someone that needs help with their cattle and volunteer. I've never heard of the concept of hiring a mentor, that's alwasy, to me anyway, has been a roll that's taken on just to be a help and keep things safe for the owner and the animals.