How many cows per acre?

Help Support CattleToday:

lmp570

Reaction score
Hello from West Kentucky everyone! I am a relatively new farmer and have run into a problem. I have been offered about five new acres to use as pasture and i know the old rule of thumb is one cow per acre, BUT if i supplement about five lbs. of corn every other day per cow... and keep a steady supply of hay (will save Timothy hay for winter) then how many cows can i expect to thrive on these five acres?

This is my first post so ill appreciate any wisdom anyone can offer! God bless!

Hello Imp570, and welcome to the boards.
You did not say what breed of cows you are running, What kind of grass do you have, and how much :?: :?:
Good luck,
Mac

lmp570":2y3kkvd5 said:
Hello from West Kentucky everyone! I am a relatively new farmer and have run into a problem. I have been offered about five new acres to use as pasture and i know the old rule of thumb is one cow per acre, BUT if i supplement about five lbs. of corn every other day per cow... and keep a steady supply of hay (will save Timothy hay for winter) then how many cows can i expect to thrive on these five acres?

if your going to hay an sup feed them as needed then you can carry 6 cows on that 5acs.ive got a 2ac pasture.thats going tobe carring 4 cows an 2 calves on it.just until i can get another pasture fixed for them.

Personally, I would not excede one cow an acre unless you can rotate the cows off this area and let it rest. I'm not saying it can't be done but problems such as worm load and other things will cause the cows not to do as well.JMO

lmp570":1hknv88m said:

That rule of thumb for 1 cow/acre makes the assumption that you have way above average pasture. Normal pasture in middle TN, and I suspect KY, will have a rough way to go with that ration of cows and grass. Even if you supplement them they will still overgraze it. If it's good pasture, I'd stock three adult bovines on the pasture and forget the supplement. JMO