How long to get herd you wanted?

Help Support CattleToday:

herofan

Reaction score
I know that dealing with cattle is an ongoing process, but for those of you who "started" at some point, how many years did it take you to get the herd you wanted? You know, things like weeding out the undesirables and replacing them with good stock, and getting the number you wanted.

I have been working aggressively on mine for 8 years. I'm not there........I don't think I ever will be. If I am doing my job right I should be raising the bar each year. I will never reach the goal but I will surely improve drastically if I continue to chase it.

HOSS":15hqwue1 said:
I have been working aggressively on mine for 8 years. I'm not there........I don't think I ever will be. If I am doing my job right I should be raising the bar each year. I will never reach the goal but I will surely improve drastically if I continue to chase it.
Like Hoss been working on it about 10 years. Every bull I buy I try to get something I feel is a little better, soon money will limit what I can and want to spend. Seems like always having to cull a cow for some reason or another. Pretty happy with what we have now, but time like now when a 10 year old cow that is giving foot trouble comes up, you start thinking about culling. I guess it is just a ongoing process.

I'm just about to celebrate the completion of my 18th year and this year's crop of yearlings, about to be mated, is the best I've ever bred. Last year's were also the best I'd ever bred, as were those of the year before. I could tell you I have achieved my aim, but I suspect I'll look back in a couple of years and be able to say the same things. I suspect I'm nearly where I'd like to be, but there will always be improvements possible and that's what makes it so interesting.