Hours worked a week

Help Support CattleToday:

born2run

Reaction score
Got a call from a gal this morning who is interested in hiring me p/t to feed calves for them. They custom raise dairy calves, and it's an area that I have little experience with. Currently am working about 45-48 hours a week at a 400 cow dairy, and I figure with the calves it'd raise me to about 70 a week. Curious how many hours the rest of ya'll have pulled?

I worked three jobs when I was a LOT younger! I would say work as much as you can without killing yourself while you're young. It won't be an option when you're older!

70 hours a week? That's only 10 hours a day. If you sleep 4-5 hours a night you've got time for another full time job.

dun

i never really kept up with the hrs i worked.running a dairy you work till you give out or cant see.an bottling calves for a calf raiser id say 70hrs is a slow week.the hours you work depends alot on your pay.

70 or 80 hrs a week seems about right for an able body person.
Yep any more you get tired.

MD

what with my job and then the housework and looking after the family, I would say I would work on average about, 84 or so hours a week. :( but remember 'all work and no play makes Joe a dull boy' you need to take some time out to have for yourself. ;-)

I work 7 days a week average about 11 - 12 hours a day but I truly enjoy a lot of what I do so I'm not really sure this can be considered work.

during the summer it wasn't uncommon at all to be pullin 50-60 hour weeks in 5 days and then go back home and put another 20-24 hours in over the weekend.

"I try not to count, it'll make me realize that I'm working for less than minimum wage."

:)

Me and my crew do about 35-maybe 40hrs a week.Then I got another 15hr monday-friday commute back and forth for that.Then,add in the time here at the farm saturday,sunday, and evenings I see why my son tells me I have no life..lol