horse cost? cheap vs expensive

Help Support CattleToday:

jvicars

Reaction score
i have a mixed araibian gelding 7 years old trained. i am a horse newbie and he does fine for what i need. he was not ridden for a year but even with my limited knowledge he has caught on quick. i paid 1300 for him, 2 saddles, feed and extras.

is it really worth paying more for a well trained horse? i see them for sale real cheap 600 and up. not knowing what a well trained horse is like i cannot see the benefit.

i use my horse for the small farm and cattle.

i am looking at a 7 year old gelding qh. 1500 with saddle and tack. i just cannot seeing paying a lot with the current horse market being weak.

comments?

Well, in my opinion, it depends on what quality of a horse you want. The ones that you see for $600-$1,000 may have had some lameness issues, behavioral problems, or lack of training.

I would find a 7 y/o QH gelding, free of lameness issues, behavioral problems, and solid training be from $1,500-$4,000.

It all just depends on what you are looking for and what you want to do with the horse.

Just my two-cents.

-Angus Girl

what i see if lack of training mostly around here. i am looking at a 7 yr old gelding qh tomorrow. i was told it has been trained. we will see tomorrow. my currnet horse is has been trained but not riden beofre i got him for at least 1 yr. so far so good. thanks for comments.

Horses are cheap in kansas unless youre buying a show baby , go ride a horse at least three times over a period of a week or two. It will give you a good idea if they are going to work out , buy from or with someone you know and trust.

A lot of the horses I see for sale are ones that people lost interest in for what ever reason and they haven't been broke or ridden for a year or so. You can't judge that horse on one demo ride. If youre interested try em out often over a week or so , see if they progress.