horned cattle calving problems..

Help Support CattleToday:

Baldie Maker

Reaction score
I have some registered hereford heifers that I keep on my grandfathers farm and for the most part he is the main care giver of them. I am in college and contribute when I can. I a.i.ed this year to ribeye and they are safe in calf and won't calf until mid feb. I was talking to him about A.I. next year and going back on them with Domino 3027 as i like his epds, pheno, and especially his carcass characteristics. When we then got into a heated debate over horned cattle having calving problems because they have a bigger head. I have no experience with horned cattle, but i said that they couldn't have any bigger head when they're born because you can't even tell if they have horns when they're born unless you feel for them. I said that if they have a big head it's because their sire has a big head, not because he has horns or not. So after all that, my question is there a difference? I want in the future to use the likes of domino 3027, oxh mark domino 8020.

I can't follow that "logic". Especially since one of the easiest calving breeds is Longhorn. It's not the calf's head that gets stuck anyway, it's usually the shoulders.

Baldie Maker":xrb0cib8 said: