Hey, I'm new to this.

Help Support CattleToday:

10year4Her

Reaction score
Hello, I am relatively new to these boards, so I hope this is in the right place for this.

This year is my last year in 4H, and I have always wanted to show a steer (we used to have the occasional freezer steer when I was younger, but got rid of them before I was in 4H). After much pleading, I convinced my parents to buy an angus cross steer from a guy down the road. While he is not a great cow, he is enough to give me a project over the summer, and thats all I wanted. Anyways, I have no experience show (any) cattle, and was hopping you guys could give me a few pointers towards feeding and training. I have him halter broke and calm enough that I can let go of his halter, walk around back and set his legs by hand. Right now he is in a 20x40 pen with about half of it in full shade. He is eating a 14% mix that the man who mixes our sheep feed recomended, with a little of the farm and fleet brand sweet feed mixed in so he will eat it. He has 3rd cutting alfalfa grass mix hay available at all times, and fresh water available at all times.

I think I have all the bases covered, but like I said, I really have no idea what I am doing, and thought I would ask you guys. Any input is very much appreciated.

Isn't your 4H Beef leader helping you?
For starters, you may want to post some pictures so the experts on showing steers can tell you what they think he may need to make him look his best. You will want to high tie him, with his head up, for a while each day. (Work up to it gradually.) He will then need to learn to lead with his head held high. You will need him to properly "set up" by using a show stick.
There should be some good teaching videos on line to demonstrate for you. :D