Hernia-Genetic?

Help Support CattleToday:

NEFarmwife

Reaction score
We had to catch a calf that in pasture yesterday that we thought initially had to be a naval infection. We gave nearly a week for the Draxxin to work but wasn't showing any signs of improvement. I called the vet last night that was close to our pasture to see if anyone was there and he said he couldn't take her in that evening. We would have to wait till tomorrow but that it was very rare to be a hernia on a 5 month old calf. We agreed but were quite confident it was.

Forward to this morning and it has been confirmed. He said that the bad part is, it is likely hereditary. Anyone have experience with the hereditary hernia? We don't know IF this is the case and which side of the pedigree it would come from. The dam is a beautiful girl. The calf, we'll just fix up and move to the fat pen. Dam is bred back to Baldridge Compass. Registered dam.

I have NO knowledge of a hereditary hernia and I guess I am wondering, do we see how next calf does? This is not something we want to pass on but can't test for it?

Been shown to be a heritable defect in some breeds and lines w/in breeds.
Probably not all are heritable, but no one knows for sure.
If this current mating is the same and produces another calf with a UH...well, you got your answer; but if not, it still doesn't rule out cow or bull as a possible carrier

ALACOWMAN said:
Might not happen using a different bull..weak muscling??
We had some convo last night with a few other cattlemen. One suggested weak walls and could see that as heritable.

Did speak with our normal vet who saw it more of a rarity than a potential heritable defect. Also spoke with the gentleman who we bought the (bred) heifer from who also owned the bull she had been bred to and he said he hadn't had any problems with a hernia in his herd for 10 years. So, we'll see. Hate to see us cull something unnecessarily.

Lucky_P said: