Hay advice for north Texas.

Help Support CattleToday:

bobrammer

Reaction score
I'm just getting started and currently have 7 registered Angus.
I have 42 acres and most of it is Coastal. Obviously with the lack of rain the coastal is getting a bit dry. I've been putting
out 20% range cubes a couple of times a week. I also have mineral blocks.

At what point do I need to start bringing in some hay? I plan to go with round bale coastal. What should I expect to pay in north Texas? How long will a round bale last?

I had planned to put out one bale at a time and keep the rest
covered. Any guidance would be appreciated. Thanks for your time! Bob Ramsden

Good morning Bob,

As far as when to put out hay - it depends. I started a few weeks ago because my pastures are burned up from the heat, etc. With 42 acres and 7 head, I would hope you have a little grass left, but it wouldn't surprise me if you saud you didn't.

I paid $29 for nice sudan bales - delivered (2 miles).

How long will it last - again, it depends. I would say for 7 head (hay alone - no winter pasture, etc.) probably 2-3 bales a week.

It doesn;t just apply to TX. The best method is to monitor the animals body condition, behaviour and the condition of the pastures. One thing to keep in mind is that it takes longer to put condition back on then it does to take it off. It's also cheaper to keep it on then put it back on.
Look at the body condition scoring threads and you'll find descriptions and photos to give you some direction

dun