Guard dog ????

Help Support CattleToday:

hillsdown

Reaction score
I put this here instead of dog and cat because I am a beginner when it comes to guard dogs.

After having to put down our 15 year old Scotch Collie last September the coyotes have been horrendous around here, not to mention the 2 legged unwanted visitors that now come onto our land without permission. :roll:

So I have been looking at getting another protector for calving and for the yard .I found a 2 year old neutered Pyrenees 1/4 Anatolian cross for sale. I like the idea that he is older as am not in any hurry to train a pup especially with Nikki's surgery coming up again . They said they are selling him because he spends too much time at the neighbors playing with their dogs than staying home and working. That part worries me ,but my neighbors are 1/2 a mile away and their dogs are house dogs. However I sure would hate to adopt him only to find that he is not doing what he should be .

Just looking for iunput , should I chance it and adopt him or does he sound like more of a headache and wouldn't be worth all the trouble.

I am familiar with Pyrenese but not the Anatolians, would like feed back on that breed or the crosses please .

He is stricly outdoors, even in winter , supposed to be great with dogs, cats ,children and livestock.

Thank you :tiphat:

Pyrenees do have a large territory and tend to roam some distance..lay around a lot during the day..work at night. I had one that was 1/2 Anatolian. Couldn't tell a bit of difference. Even looked pure pyrenees. They do tend to adopt about every animal on the place except strange ones and then more times than usual will just show their dominance rather than attack. They seem to sense what is a danger and what is not. Don't know what to advise you but me...I'd take the chance with her.

Thanks for all of the input TB :D