grazing turnips

Help Support CattleToday:

salemhigh

Reaction score
near weaning time, first year to graze turnips
Nov-2.jpg

Nov.jpg

We have a neighbor south of us that runs close to 500 cows and he seeds turnips in August. First he harrows his grain stubble then flies on the seed and harrows again. He turns the calves on after he weans in October and they graze turnips all winter. When they have the tops eaten off he uses a toolbar to work the turnips up and they eat them also. He says it's the cheapest feed he can find.

Bobg

i only allow them so much time a day grazing ,then move em off and feed hay,as ive been told of health prolems if grazed to long

salemhigh":3hsypbso said:
i only allow them so much time a day grazing ,then move em off and feed hay,as ive been told of health prolems if grazed to long
How long do you allow them to graze them? I've been kicking around the idea for a couple of years but have been afraid of the bloat issue.

I'm trying some again this year in a pasture that I have ryegrass in. I broadcasted them this time, as was told that when the turnips grow above or on the ground, it's easier for the cows.

i graze two times dailey,20 minutes or so at each time,cows will fill up very fast,then ill feed rough last years hay at night.so far it works good

That's some good, healthy looking beeves you have there, salemhigh. You sure you're not on the Ga. side of Lookout Mtn?

I've been thinking of trying turnips. I'm not sure if I have long enough growing season. Anyone having luck with them in the Midwest???

Salem,
How did you plant your turnips? Anyone have experience with overseeding or is this not feasible?

Salem,
How did you plant your turnips? Anyone have experience with overseeding or is this not feasible?