Good feet in the Angus Breed

Help Support CattleToday:

tnfarmboy67

Reaction score
I'm just getting started in Registered Black Angus and the biggest problem I am having is finding Angus Cows with good feet.
What line of angus have the best Feet?

I've seen a lot of bad feet also in my search for cows and bulls over the last two years. One reason why I have decided not to bid on any on the internet again unless I have looked at them in person. It seems worse with the Angus. I had never noticed that as an issue before. Curly toes, split toes and just plain bad feet

Look at hooves, leg angle and stride length and you will recognize issues in structure and bone angle are bigger than just hooves for the breed. I think the swayback issue is probably tied to incorrect structure. I find that to be quite unattractive no matter the pedigree or the hype.

As an angus breeder I have to agree that feet are a challenge. I I've never had another pure bred animal so I can't compare to other breeds.

They also seem to "move" with age. Good feet can go bad as a calf matures and bad feet can seem to straighten up.

Worse feet I ever got was from GDAR Game Day. Best feet for me have been thunder. I also wonder if "feet" is something the show folks have on the "commercial" folks. I've bought a number of bulls from Bill Wilson at Wilson Cattle Co in Cloverdale IN always seems to have consistently good feet. I generally consider him a "show cattle" guy I guess.

This thread shows me how the allegiencies have changed on CT. A couple of years ago a thread like this would be up to several pages by now with people from other breeds jumping in and sinking the boot into Angus and saying how bad they all are. I thought the responses to date have been very polite. Well done.
Ken

wbvs58":3rod3z8a said: